top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewe are Endangered

THE LEOPARD OF LEBOMBO: A long awaited encounter


Leopards are without a doubt my favourite cat, powerful and strong yet so elusive and mysterious. Despite living in Phalaborwa, in northern Kruger Park, it was almost 2 years before I would get my first real encounter with a Leopard. This would be during my stay at Singita Lebombo, a wildlife lodge towards the southern-eastern part of Kruger Park. These wildlife lodges play an important role in supporting national parks and their conservation work. Singita Lebombo Lodge was founded in 2001 as part of the authorities designating around 3% of Kruger Park for private concessions to strengthen Kruger's future financial sustainability.


It's important to note that northern and southern Kruger have particularly different landscapes. The north is a lot dryer and is dominated by Mopane Trees, forming Mopaneveld attracting large numbers of Elephants (more than half of Kruger's Elephant population resides in this area). The Sabi River feeds life to the South of the Park making the wildlife much more diverse than in the north.


The Singita concession in particular is an isolated piece of pristine wilderness, covering 33,000 acres across four distinct ecological-zones. This is where I would travel, to stay at the Singita Lebombo lodge, whilst the area was well known for a huge concentration of the 'Big 5' there was obviously one in particular I had my eye on.

Built low down on the riverbank of the N'Wanetsi River beneath mature trees and endless African skies the Lebombo lodge sits in a diverse habitat teeming with game, if I was ever going to find my Leopard it would be here. Just as the beautiful evening light started to creep on our first afternoon there we headed out on an afternoon game drive. The golden light hit the dry veld and contrasted the dark red earth against the colours of the grass and trees creating an amazing atmosphere.

I had mentioned my Leopard predicament to our guide, he seemed quietly confident that today would be the one I had been waiting for. He was so right. Before long I finally had my first sighting of these magnificent cats. He was almost within touching distance, stirring in the afternoon sun getting ready to prowl for food. I was exciting and just in awe; I had finally found my Leopard, and in such close proximity as well.


Leopards, although undeniably fierce, tolerate close proximity to humans very well and much better than other big cats and so he did not mind us at all. Generally they have a tendency to avoid humans owing to their mysteriousness and my long wait to finally spot one.

He was beautiful but also, very cocky, it almost felt as if he enjoyed being in the spotlight posing for my camera.

A tired leopard rests in the afternoon sun.

Sleeping leopard resting in the evening

Our guide decided after the spotting that we should stick with 'my' Leopard and we were able to catch-up with him the next morning resting in the shade without a care in the world. Then again that afternoon we found him in a food coma, with even less of a care. In the end, I had the pleasure of encountering him on all four of my game drives during my stay at Lebombo.


It's such an incredible feeling coming face-to-face with an animal as amazing as a wild Leopard, especially when you have been seeking an encounter for so many years. I left Lebombo feeling immensely fulfilled to finally capture this amazing creature.


Nothing compares and it is an experience I will remember forever. To me he will always be 'my' Leopard.

'In the end, we will conserve only what we love; we will love only what we understand and we will understand only what we are taught.’

baba dioum


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page